Almond Breeze Milk Recalled as it May Contain Dairy

Thousands of cartons of Almond Breeze milk have been recalled after its maker said they ‘may contain milk’

bowl of almond milk
Image Credit: Califia

Almost 150,000 half-gallon cartons of the vanilla-flavoured almond milk that were distributed to 28 states in America have been recalled by the manufacturer, HP Hood.

The cartons that were affected have a use-by date of 2 September and a Universal Product Code (UPC barcode) of 41570 05621 on the side panel of the carton next to the nutrition facts.

In a statement, HP Hood, a national company distributing dairy products throughout the United States, said:

“HP Hood LLC is voluntarily recalling a limited number of half-gallon (1.89 L) cartons of refrigerated Vanilla Almond Breeze almond milk because the product may contain milk, an allergen not listed on the label. People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume these products.

“The product is safe to consume unless you have a milk allergy or sensitivity. To date, there has been one report of an allergic reaction. Medical treatment or hospitalization was not required.”

Almond milk currently has the largest share of the non-dairy milk market in America as the number of those opting for alternatives to dairy increases worldwide. Sales of plant-based milk grew by 61% between 2012 and 2017 in the US, with almond milk accounting for 63% of those sales.  In the UK, sales of plant milk reached $280 million in 2016 and are predicted to increase to $400 million by 2021. That’s a rise of 42%, in comparison dairy milk sales are expected to rise by just 5.2%.

Whilst the Almond Breeze milk may be ‘safe to consume’ for those without a milk allergy or intolerance – for someone who has chosen to omit dairy from their diet for ethical, health or environmental reasons, the idea that they have consumed such products may be hard to swallow.

So what should you do if you have accidentally consumed something non-vegan? The truth is, there’s not much you can do after the fact, and it happens – it may well happen to you more than once. Whether it’s at a meal in a restaurant or buying something from a supermarket, if no non-vegan ingredients were listed, then the truth is that your intention was to eat/drink a vegan product and you ate/drank that product in good faith.

It is natural that you would feel upset, sad, angry and maybe a little – or a lot – guilty. But whilst that’s totally understandable, after experiencing those emotions, move on.

Veganism isn’t about perfection, it’s about trying your best.

There may be times you fall off the wagon, accidentally or not, and when you do, just dust yourself down, tell yourself that “it’s okay, you’re doing the best you can”, and jump back on!

And, if you want to be 100% sure that your almond milk contains only almonds – you can always make your own!

Have you signed up to try vegan? We’ll send you daily emails with delicious recipes, meal plans and helpful tips. We’ll also send you information about the impact of what we eat on our health, animals and the environment. And you’ll be the first to hear about appeals, vegan news and exciting offers! Click here to find out more!

Thinking of trying vegan?

Veganuary inspires and supports people all over the world to try vegan for January and beyond. Millions of people have already taken part. Will you join them?