Label reading can be a bit tricky, but did you know there is an app for that? Introducing Spoon Guru…..
Spoon Guru is a free food search and discovery app available for UK users on iOS and Android. Using the inbuilt barcode scanner, recipe library, and search function, you can quickly and easily find recipes and products that are suitable for your specific diet.
By turning on the ‘Vegan’ or ‘Veganuary‘ diet option, the Spoon Guru app automatically:
- filters out what you can’t eat and helps you discover what you can
- excludes obvious ingredients such as meat, dairy, fish and eggs
- excludes obscure ingredients such as Vitamin D3, casein, carmine (E120) and lanolin
While the barcode scanner will tell you if a specific product is or isn’t vegan, you can also find lists of products and recipes.
- Need a new breakfast cereal? A product search on ‘cereal’ or ‘Kelloggs’ will give you a list of breakfast cereals that fit in with your diet.
- Stuck for what to cook for dinner? A recipe search on ‘dinner’, or even the ingredients you have in the fridge, will give you a list of recipes.
Because every body is different, you can also choose to add further dietary specifications to your results. Whether you’re looking for low sugar or low fat options, or if you need to make sure you’re not eating food containing gluten, nuts or soy, you can very easily set up the app to take all this into consideration with just a few swipes.
With hundreds of different dietary combinations, a database of over 150,000 everyday products, and a library packed with searchable recipes, the Spoon Guru app makes finding what you can eat easier than ever.
- ‘May contain’ labelling
As Spoon Guru is a food-allergen app, it will pick up any listed products that have a ‘may contain’ warning or products that may have been produced in a shared-facility.
In the UK, a manufacturer must declare whether a product is made in a factory where allergens are present. You may be confused when you see a label that appears to be free from any non-vegan ingredient and then states ‘may contain milk’ (for example). This is a legal requirement and does not mean the product is not vegan. Please visit the Food Standards Agency website for further information.