There are a wide range of vegan menu options and substitutions that make Nando’s a safe bet for plant-based eaters…
With vegan starter, main, kids, and dessert options, vegans are guaranteed a good feed at Nando’s, which makes it a great compromise when eating out with non-vegan friends and family. There’s something for everyone!
Here’s what’s available on the current menu*…
Vegan Options at Nandos
- Houmous with Peri-Peri Drizzle
Pour smoky PERi-PERi oil over creamy houmous and dig in with strips of warm pitta.
- Spiced Mixed Olives
Co-starring mushrooms, garlic and red pepper
- Peri-Peri Nuts
Fiery almonds, cashews and macadamias – crunch with punch
NOTE: Bastes may contain shellac.
- Supergreen with any baste
Full of the green stuff like broccoli, edamame beans and kale.
Burger or Pitta, ask for no mayo
- Sweet Potato & Butternut with any baste
With red pepper, onion and edamame beans.
Burger or Pitta, ask for no mayo
You can always mix it up and order something that can be made vegan.
- Portobello Mushroom – substitute the halloumi for either pineapple or 1/4 avocado
Burger or Pitta, chilli jam and salad to finish
- Supergrain Salad – Ask for it without chicken or the buttermilk dressing. We like to customise ours by throwing a side order of chargrilled veggies on top!
- Chips – Standard and Peri-Salted
- Garlic Bread – It’s dairy-free!!
- Add a touch of chilli.
- Mixed Leaf Salad
- Chargrilled Veg
- Chunky mixed peppers, red onion and courgette with crushed PERi-PERi tomatoes.
- Mango Gelato
- Light, creamy and dangerously moreish.
- Sweet Potato & Butternut Pattie
- With red pepper, onion and edamame beans
- Corn on the Cob
- Little Tomatoes
- Sweet Potato Wedges
- Grains, greens and full of beans
- Chilly Billy Lolly
If you’re still in doubt after reading all of that, ask your server to show you the allergen book, which is available in all stores. This will show you exactly which items contain dairy, eggs, gluten, and other allergens, and what you can substitute to make them vegan. OR check it out online here before you go.
Nando’s have stated the following regarding vegan options:
Nando’s are not a vegan restaurant, but we do offer non-meat products on our menu which can be seen here. You can filter by dietary requirement on the left hand side to only display the vegan options we offer.
We’d recommend our Supergreen and Sweet Potato & Butternut Burgers or Pittas but you need to specify “no mayonnaise” as mayo is a standard ingredient containing egg. Our bastes are all meat, egg and dairy free (although are not vegan as they may contain traces of shellac).
Though we are not a vegetarian restaurant, we do take specific steps to segregate our non-meat products from our meat products: we choose a specific part of the grill for cooking only non-meat products, separate utensils are always used with non-meat products and separate bottles of the Nando’s bastes are used exclusively for basting the non-meat products.
Full ingredient listings are available in all of our restaurants, just ask the duty manager to see the Food Allergy & Nutritional Information when you visit. We’d recommend telling the restaurant team when you order that you’re vegan, just to ensure they’re extra careful!
*This information is accurate on 26/02/2018.
Vegan Peri-Peri Recipe
Want to have a go at making your own epic peri-peri veggie burger at home?? Try making one of the mouthwatering vegan burgers in our recipe section, and then slosh any Nando’s sauce/marinade all over it. They’re available to buy in most supermarkets!