Lots of what you already eat is vegan!
Many well-known products are vegan purely by accident, and we've listed some of our favourites below...
The More Obvious…
- Pasta (dry): most dried pasta is made without egg and is therefore 100% vegan
- Baked Beans (original recipe, without cheese or sausages etc.)
- Tinned/Canned Spaghetti (original recipe, without cheese or sausages etc.)
- Most yeast extracts like Marmite and Vegemite
- Most fresh bread is vegan and Ciabatta, by its very nature, is always vegan as it is made with olive oil
- Peanut Butter
- Tomato Sauce/Ketchup
- HP/Brown sauce
- Bisto Gravy: Original, Reduced Salt, Vegetable and Onion
- Mustard: whether it’s Dijon, wholegrain, English or American
- Branston Pickle
- Hot sauces like Tabasco and Sriracha
- Rice noodles: when ordering a Chinese takeaway, just ask for rice rather than egg noodles
- Jam: typically made with pectin (to thicken) rather than gelatin
- Chips/French fries: if cooked in veggie oil then they are vegan!
- Porridge/Oatmeal: when made with water or plant milk
- Crumpets: Warburtons, Tescos and Sainsbury’s are all vegan
- Doritos: Chilli Heatwave and Lightly Salted
- **Oreos: Original
- Fox’s: Dark Chocolate Chunkie Cookies, Party Rings
- Co-op Jam, and custard doughnuts
- Bird’s Custard (when made with plant milk)
- Walkers Crisps: Ready Salted, Salt and Vinegar, Pickled Onion, Prawn Cocktail, Worcester Sauce, Crinkles Simply Sea Salted, Chipsticks Salt ‘n’ Vinegar Flavour, Sensations Lime & Coriander Chutney Poppadoms, Sensations Balsamic Vinegar & Caramalised Onion, Sunbites Sweet Chilli, Sunbites Original, Sausage and Brown Sauce
- Pringles: Original, Paprika, BBQ and Smokey Bacon
- Mr Kipling: Treacle Tart, Jam Tarts, Apple and Blackcurrant Pies
- McVities: Fruit Shortcakes, Original and Choc Chip Hobnobs, Gingernuts, Light Rich Tea
- Ritz Crackers: Original, Crisp and Thin (Salt & Vinegar)
- Sainsbury’s Cream Crackers
- Nairn’s Oatcakes: Dark Chocolate Chip
- Lidl’s Bramley Apple Pies
- Belvita Breakfast ‘Tops’: Choco Hazelnut
- Sainsbury’s Chicken Flavour Instant Noodles
- Kettle Chips: Sea Salt, Sea Salt and Balsamic Vinegar and Cracked Pepper
- Guinness Rich Beef Chilli Thick Cut Potato Chips (yes, really!)
- MacSween Vegetarian Haggis
- Ritter Sport chocolate: Marzipan
- Skittles: E120/carmine/cochineal has been removed from the ingredients list in the UK. Only a few old packets (with E120) still exist. So if a pack is marked ‘Suitable for vegetarians’ then it will be vegan and safe to eat!
- Millions: All flavours except Chocolate Strawberry
- Snyder’s Jalapeno Pretzels
- Jus Rol: Gluten-free Puff Pastry, Pan Au Chocolat, Croissants and Cinnamon Swirls
- Tesco Apple Strudel
- Tesco Chocolate And Hazelnut Filled Mini Churros
- Bourbon Biscuits: most brands, but always check the label first.
** Oreos have milk as cross-contact, but it is not included as an ingredient, so they are suitable for vegans.
Beers and Ciders…
- Beck’s Blue
- Weston’s: All
- Thatcher’s: All
- Aspall’s: All
- Merrydown: All
- Brother’s: All, including fruit flavours
- Sainsbury’s, Co-op, Waitrose and Marks & Spencer clearly label the vegan wines in their selections.
For more information on alcohol please have a look at our Label Reading Guide.
- We have not included the obvious plant foods in our lists (fruits, vegetables, grains, pulses, legumes, dried fruit, nuts, pickled vegetables, olives etc.), but they are most definitely vegan.
- Ingredients can alter from brand to brand, so do not assume just because an item is vegan in one store that it will also be in another. Crumpets are a good example: vegan in both Tesco and Sainsbury’s, made with milk in Waitrose. For help reading labels please see our Vegan Label Reading Guide.
- On Instagram? Follow @accidentallyveganuk for regular Accidentally Vegan product posts!