Lots of what you already eat is vegan!
Many well-known products are vegan purely by accident, and we've listed some of our favourites below...
The More Obvious…
- Pasta (dry): almost all dried pasta is made without egg and is therefore 100% vegan
- Baked Beans (original recipe, without cheese or sausages etc.)
- Tinned/Canned Spaghetti (original recipe, without cheese or sausages etc.)
- Yeast extracts like Marmite
- Most fresh bread is vegan and Ciabatta, by its very nature, is always vegan as it is made with olive oil
- Peanut Butter
- Tomato Sauce/Ketchup
- HP/Brown sauce
- Mustard: whether it’s Dijon, wholegrain, English or American
- Branston Pickle
- Hot sauces like Tabasco and Siracha
- Rice noodles: when ordering a Chinese takeaway, just ask for rice rather than egg noodles
- Jam: typically made with pectin (to thicken) rather than gelatin
- Chips/French fries: if cooked in veggie oil then they are vegan!
- Porridge/Oatmeal: when made with water or plant milk
- Oreos: Original and Golden
- Dark Chocolate Jungle Energy Bars
- Doritos: Sweet Chilli Pepper and Chilli Rib flavour
- Pringles: Original and Salt & Vinegar
- McVities Fruit Shortcake Biscuits
- Ritz Crackers
- Kettle Chips: Sea Salt, Sea Salt and Balsamic Vinegar and Cracked Pepper
- Ritter Sport chocolate: Dark and Extra Fine Dark
- Albany Chocolate Slabs: Classic and Almond
- Spar Squillos Chocolate Spread
- ProNutro: Original and Wholewheat
- Spar Rice Crackers
- Moir’s Instant Pudding: Butterscotch and Chocolate flavour
- Bakers Biscuits: Ginger Nuts, Mini Ginger Nuts, Romany Tarte, Original Digestive and Snacktime Golden Grain
- Ina Paarman Cake Mix: Vanilla, Chocolate, Red Velvet
- Ina Paarman Brown Gravy, Chicken Flavour Stock and Beef Flavour Stock Powders (Note: the liquid stocks are not vegan!)
- Lay’s Potato Chips: Classic, Salt & Vinegar, Thai Sweet Chilli, Caribbean Onion & Balsamic Vinegar
- Kellogg’s breakfast cereal: Strawberry Pops, Coco Pops, All Bran, Corn Flakes, Froot Loops, Special K
- Cape Cookies: Choc Chip and Crunchy Shortcake
- Cadbury Hot Chocolate Powder
Beers and Ciders…
- Carling Black Label
- Devil’s Peak
- Stella Artois
- Tafel Lager
For more information on alcohol please have a look at our Label Reading Guide.
- We have not included the obvious plant foods in the lists below (fruits, vegetables, grains, pulses, legumes, dried fruit, nuts, pickled vegetables, oilves etc.), but they are most definitely vegan!
- Ingredients can alter from brand to brand, so do not assume just because an item is vegan in one store that it will also be in another. For help reading labels please see our Vegan Label Reading Guide.
- This is by no means a complete list. There have never been so many vegan and vegan-friendly products as there are now, and more are coming on the market every day. Please visit our Product Directory for listings of vegan products.
- Check this list out too, courtesy of Vegan Wiki!
- On Instagram? Follow @weareveganuary for regular Accidentally Vegan product posts!
- Know of an accidentally vegan product that’s not listed above? Please comment below and we will add it. Thank you!