Lots of what you already eat is vegan!
Many well-known products are vegan by accident, and we've listed some of our favorites below...
The More Obvious…
- Pasta (dry): almost all dried pasta is made without egg and is therefore 100% vegan
- Tinned/Canned Spaghetti (original recipe, without cheese or sausages etc.)
- Most fresh bread is vegan and Ciabatta, by its very nature, is always vegan as it is made with olive oil
- Peanut Butter
- Mustard: whether it’s Dijon, wholegrain, English or American
- Hot sauces like Tabasco, Frank’s and Siracha
- Rice noodles: when ordering a Chinese takeaway, just ask for rice rather than egg noodles
- Jelly: typically made with pectin (to thicken) rather than gelatin
- French fries: if cooked in veggie oil then they are vegan!
- Porridge/Oatmeal: when made with water or plant milk
- Oreos: Original, Chocolate, Chocolate Cones
- Cliff: Crunch bars
- Doritos: Chilli Heatwave
- Fox’s: Chunkie Cookies – Dark Chocolate, Party Rings
- Lays: Ready Salted, Salt and Vinegar
- Pringles: Original, BBQ Sauce
- Kellogg’s Poptarts: Unfrosted
- Ritz Crackers: Original
- Kettle Chips: Salt and Vinegar, Kettle Original Salted, Chili, Root Vegetable Chips – Sweet Potato, Beetroot
- Ritter Sport Chocolate: Dark and Extra Fine Dark
- French Fries: Original, Salt and Vinegar
- Wrigley’s Chewing Gums :Airwaves, Juicy Fruit, Hubba Bubba Gum
- Tic Tacs
- Orgran: Outback Animals Cookies – Chocolate, Vanilla
- Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup
- Goldenberg: Peanut Chews
- Sour Patch Kids
- Duncan Hines Premium Frosting: Creamy Home-Style Classic Chocolate
- Smucker’s Marshmallow Ice Cream Topping
- Nutter Butter: Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies
- Teddy Grahams: Chocolatey Chip
- Pillsbury Original Crescent Rolls
Beers and Ciders…
- Ace Ciders: Apple, Perry, Berry
- Thatcher’s Cider: All
- Brother’s Fruit Ciders: All
- Alfaro: Pinot Noir, Sangiovese, Syrah, Chardonnay
- Andrew Murray: Syrah Thompson, Syrah Watch Hill
- August Cellars: Pinot Noir, Chardonnay
For more information on alcohol please have a look at our Label Reading Guide.
- We have not included the obvious plant foods in the lists below (fruits, vegetables, grains, pulses, legumes, dried fruit, nuts, pickled vegetables, oilves etc.), but they are most definitely vegan!
- Ingredients can alter from brand to brand, so do not assume just because an item is vegan in one store that it will also be in another. For help reading labels please see our Vegan Label Reading Guide.
- This is by no means a complete list. There have never been so many vegan and vegan-friendly products as there are now, and more are coming on the market every day. Please visit our Product Directory for listings of vegan products.
- Check this list out too, courtesy of Vegan Wiki!
- On Instagram? Follow @weareveganuary for regular Accidentally Vegan product posts!
- Know of an accidentally vegan product that’s not listed above? Please comment below and we will add it. Thank you!