Accidentally Vegan Products (USA)

Lots of what you already eat is vegan!

Many well-known products are vegan by chance, and we’ve listed some of our favorite “accidentally vegan” products below…

A serving of French fries - one of the many accidentally vegan products you can find in the USA
Image Credit: Unsplash

The More Obvious…

  • Pasta (dry): Almost all dried pasta is made without egg and is therefore 100% vegan
  • Most fresh bread is vegan and Ciabatta, by its very nature, is always vegan as it is made with olive oil
  • Peanut Butter and other nut butters
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard: Dijon, wholegrain, yellow
  • Hot sauces like Tabasco, Frank’s, and Sriracha
  • Rice
  • Rice noodles: When ordering Chinese takeout, just ask for rice rather than egg noodles
  • Jelly: Typically made with pectin (to thicken) rather than gelatin
  • Hummus
  • French fries: If cooked in veggie oil, then they are vegan!
  • Oatmeal: When made with water or non-dairy milk
  • Bagels
A bowl of oatmeal with nuts - another product that's vegan by chance
Image Credit: Unsplash

The Surprising…

  • Oreos: Original, Chocolate, Chocolate Cones
  • Clif: Most flavors
  • Doritos: Spicy Sweet Chili
  • Lays: Lightly Salted, Salt and Vinegar, Barbeque, Limon
  • Pringles: Original
  • Kellogg’s Pop-tarts: Unfrosted
  • Ritz Crackers: Original
  • Kettle Chips: Salt and Vinegar, Kettle Original Salted, Chili, Root Vegetable Chips – Sweet Potato, Beetroot
  • Ritter Sport Chocolate: Marzipan
  • Wrigley’s Chewing Gums: Juicy Fruit, Hubba Bubba Gum
  • Tic Tacs
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup
  • Goldenberg’s: Peanut Chews
  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Duncan Hines Premium Frosting: Creamy Home-Style Classic Chocolate
  • Smucker’s Marshmallow Ice Cream Topping
  • Nutter Butter: Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies
  • Teddy Grahams: Chocolate, Cinnamon
  • Pillsbury Original Crescent Rolls
Original Oreos are accidentally vegan
Image Credit: Unsplash

Beers and Ciders…

  • Heineken
  • Abacus
  • Beck’s
  • Carlsberg
  • Amstel
  • Peroni
  • Budweiser
  • Corona
  • Ace Ciders: Apple, Perry, Berry, Pineapple, Pumpkin
  • Thatcher’s Cider: All
  • Brother’s Fruit Ciders: All
A crate of Heineken beers

Wine…

  • Alfaro: Pinot Noir, Sangiovese, Syrah, Chardonnay
  • Andrew Murray: Syrah Thompson, Syrah Watch Hill
  • August Cellars: Pinot Noir, Chardonnay

For more information on alcohol please have a look at our Label Reading Guide.

A rack of wine bottles
Image Credit: Unsplash

Please note:

  • We have not included the obvious plant foods in the list above (fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes, dried fruit, nuts, pickled vegetables, olives etc.), but they are most definitely vegan!
  • Ingredients can alter from brand to brand, so do not assume just because an item is vegan in one store that it will also be in another. 
  • On Instagram? Follow @weareveganuary for regular Accidentally Vegan product posts!

Something missing?

  • Know of any accidentally vegan products not listed above? Please contact us on Facebook, Twitter or email us at “usinfo @ veganuary.com” and we will add it. Thank you!

A note about sugar

  • In the USA, white sugar can be refined using animal bone char. (Also, don’t be fooled by the name ‘brown sugar’, as it is just white sugar mixed with molasses.). We include sugar-containing foods here because they are widely available and can be easy, familiar transition foods for new vegans. As you continue on your vegan journey, you may wish to call companies to determine the source of their sugar. Follow this link for a list of vegan sugar suppliers.

Lots of what you already eat is vegan!

Many well-known products are vegan by chance, and we’ve listed some of our favorite “accidentally vegan” products below…

A serving of French fries - one of the many accidentally vegan products you can find in the USA
Image Credit: Unsplash

The More Obvious…

  • Pasta (dry): Almost all dried pasta is made without egg and is therefore 100% vegan
  • Most fresh bread is vegan and Ciabatta, by its very nature, is always vegan as it is made with olive oil
  • Peanut Butter and other nut butters
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard: Dijon, wholegrain, yellow
  • Hot sauces like Tabasco, Frank’s, and Sriracha
  • Rice
  • Rice noodles: When ordering Chinese takeout, just ask for rice rather than egg noodles
  • Jelly: Typically made with pectin (to thicken) rather than gelatin
  • Hummus
  • French fries: If cooked in veggie oil, then they are vegan!
  • Oatmeal: When made with water or non-dairy milk
  • Bagels
A bowl of oatmeal with nuts - another product that's vegan by chance
Image Credit: Unsplash

The Surprising…

  • Oreos: Original, Chocolate, Chocolate Cones
  • Clif: Most flavors
  • Doritos: Spicy Sweet Chili
  • Lays: Lightly Salted, Salt and Vinegar, Barbeque, Limon
  • Pringles: Original
  • Kellogg’s Pop-tarts: Unfrosted
  • Ritz Crackers: Original
  • Kettle Chips: Salt and Vinegar, Kettle Original Salted, Chili, Root Vegetable Chips – Sweet Potato, Beetroot
  • Ritter Sport Chocolate: Marzipan
  • Wrigley’s Chewing Gums: Juicy Fruit, Hubba Bubba Gum
  • Tic Tacs
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup
  • Goldenberg’s: Peanut Chews
  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Duncan Hines Premium Frosting: Creamy Home-Style Classic Chocolate
  • Smucker’s Marshmallow Ice Cream Topping
  • Nutter Butter: Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies
  • Teddy Grahams: Chocolate, Cinnamon
  • Pillsbury Original Crescent Rolls
Original Oreos are accidentally vegan
Image Credit: Unsplash

Beers and Ciders…

  • Heineken
  • Abacus
  • Beck’s
  • Carlsberg
  • Amstel
  • Peroni
  • Budweiser
  • Corona
  • Ace Ciders: Apple, Perry, Berry, Pineapple, Pumpkin
  • Thatcher’s Cider: All
  • Brother’s Fruit Ciders: All
A crate of Heineken beers

Wine…

  • Alfaro: Pinot Noir, Sangiovese, Syrah, Chardonnay
  • Andrew Murray: Syrah Thompson, Syrah Watch Hill
  • August Cellars: Pinot Noir, Chardonnay

For more information on alcohol please have a look at our Label Reading Guide.

A rack of wine bottles
Image Credit: Unsplash

Please note:

  • We have not included the obvious plant foods in the list above (fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes, dried fruit, nuts, pickled vegetables, olives etc.), but they are most definitely vegan!
  • Ingredients can alter from brand to brand, so do not assume just because an item is vegan in one store that it will also be in another. 
  • On Instagram? Follow @weareveganuary for regular Accidentally Vegan product posts!

Something missing?

  • Know of any accidentally vegan products not listed above? Please contact us on Facebook, Twitter or email us at “usinfo @ veganuary.com” and we will add it. Thank you!

A note about sugar

  • In the USA, white sugar can be refined using animal bone char. (Also, don’t be fooled by the name ‘brown sugar’, as it is just white sugar mixed with molasses.). We include sugar-containing foods here because they are widely available and can be easy, familiar transition foods for new vegans. As you continue on your vegan journey, you may wish to call companies to determine the source of their sugar. Follow this link for a list of vegan sugar suppliers.

Ready to take the Veganuary pledge?

Veganuary is the world's largest vegan movement, inspiring people to try vegan for January and throughout the rest of the year.