Vegan Gas Station Tips (US)

Vegan gas station tips image shows vegan snacks including Bobo's oat bar, Munchos Flamin' Hot Potato Crisps, and Cape Cod Sweet Mesquite Barbeque Chips

When preparing for a road trip, it is always helpful to pack some snacks ahead of time. But we have all still found ourselves browsing the gas station aisles, searching for something to munch on during our journey! It may seem a bit daunting if this is your first time hitting the road as a vegan, but don’t worry — we’re here to help!

Keep an eye out for the bigger gas stations and rest stops

This may be obvious but instead of stopping at the nearest exit for gas, try to time your refuel for a bigger chain or rest stop. The bigger the facility, the more likely they are to have an option for you. It’s even easier when there’s a fast-food restaurant like Burger King, Taco Bell, or Subway nearby, so you can quickly grab a veggie burger, sub, or burrito! Plenty of gas stations are now offering made-to-order food onsite, with chains like Get-Go and Sheetz even offering vegan burgers!

Take your time

You may be anxious to get to your destination, but it does pay off to take a bit of time perusing the aisles if you can. You might just find your next go-to vegan snack in the process! Try checking out the aisles you’ve typically skipped in the past and take the time to check ingredients and packaging. You’ll be surprised to see just how many items now have some sort of vegan label on them!

Look for the “healthy” section

Some gas station chains have begun designating a section of shelving to “healthier” snacks. While not all vegan food is healthy and not all healthy food is vegan, this is a great place to start your search. Veggie chips and straws are always a yummy and widely available option. There are also typically plenty of nuts, seeds, and dried fruits in this section. Granola or protein bars are also sure to stop the stomach rumblings. Luna and Clif Bars both have plenty of delicious vegan flavors. Keep an eye out for Bobo’s oat bars, That’s It fruit bars, Nature’s Bakery fig bars, and Lenny & Larry’s protein cookies too!

Don’t forget the refrigerated section

The refrigerated section is no longer limited to just beverages. Snacking pickles, fresh fruit cups, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and Sabra pretzel and hummus cups are just a few yummy vegan options you might find there!

Remember, not all accidents are bad

Just because an item doesn’t have a vegan label doesn’t mean it isn’t vegan! Of course, tortilla chips and salsa are usually a safe and tasty bet, and many original flavored potato chips and pretzels are already vegan. But there are plenty more exciting “accidentally vegan” items out there that just happen to be made without any animal products or by-products! As always, check the ingredients list to be sure, but you may be happy to learn that Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili flavor has been deemed suitable for vegans, along with Munchos Flamin’ Hot Potato Crisps, and Cape Cod Sweet Mesquite Barbeque chips!

Looking for something sweet?

Of course, you could always grab a vegan apple sauce pouch or fruit cup, but if you are feeling particularly indulgent, we’re pleased to share that most OREO flavors, Nutter Butters, and Goldenberg’s Original Dark Chocolate Peanut Chews are vegan. Furthermore, you can still enjoy most Airheads taffy, Fruit by the Foot, and Swedish Fish. Just steer clear of any candies that contain the less obvious gelatin or beeswax to ensure it’s vegan!


Thinking of trying vegan?

Veganuary inspires and supports people all over the world to try vegan for January and beyond. Millions of people have already taken part.
Will you join them?