McDonalds have delighted plant-based eaters with the launch of their new Vegan-Friendly Happy Meal in January 2019.
Vegan Options at McDonalds
- Veggie Deluxe (ask for no mayo / sauce)
- Spicy Veggie Deluxe (ask for no mayo / sauce)
Vegan Burgers are being trialled in many countries, so hopefully will be a permanent fixture in the UK soon!
- Toasted Bagel (Plain)
- Hash Brown
- Apple and Grape Fruit Bag
- Shaker Side Salad
- Carrot Sticks
- Tomato Ketchup
- Spicy Tomato Salsa
- Sweet Chilli Sauce and Dip
- BBQ Dip
- Sweet and Sour Dip
- Sweet Curry Dip
McDonalds Customer Service provided the following statement:
The Spicy Veggie Patty has been approved as suitable for vegetarians by the Vegetarian Society. The bun does not contain milk or egg as ingredients, however it is toasted in the same equipment as other buns that may contain non vegan ingredients and therefore, cross contamination could occur.
We offer a number of products approved by the Vegetarian Society that may be suitable for vegans. These include our Fries, Carrot Sticks, Fruit Bags, and Garden Side Salad.
Our Vegetable Deluxe and Spicy Vegetable Deluxe patties are cooked in 100% vegetable oil, separate from our Chicken and Fish products- you are free to enjoy these as well, just please be aware that you would need to customise these items to remove the mayonnaise in order for them to become vegan-friendly.
Please note that the McDonalds menu, and their suitability for vegans, differs in different locations across the world.
Please click here for the US list.
This information is correct as of: 08/01/2019
Fancy making your own burgers instead? Check out Veganuary’s recipes here.